Volksbad

Volksbad

The listed ‘Volksbad’ open-air swimming pool in Mönchengladbach was built between 1924 and 1926 in the typical style of that period. In 2004 it was included in the city of Mönchengladbach’s register of listed buildings. Today the open-air swimming pool provides a wide variety of leisure facilities including swimming, relaxation and sport in a landscaped setting surrounded by trees.

Sports enthusiasts can swim lengths in the 50-metre sports pool, and they can also use the specially set up beach volleyball or basketball courts and the football pitch. And for taking a refreshing dip there’s a special diving pool with a 1-metre diving board and a three-metre diving platform.

In the spacious leisure pool there’s a water slide, a water fountain, a water cannon and a water mushroom as well as water jets, a bubble system, massage jets and jacuzzi loungers. The main attraction is the 15-metre water slide. Kids love the paddling pool where they can play to their hearts’ content with the toy boat, the water hedgehog and the water polo goals, not to mention the kids’ water slide. There’s lots to discover out of the water too. For instance, the cafeteria is just what you need to get the very best from your stay at the Volksbad. Afterwards you can relax on sun loungers or comfortable beach chairs in the sunbathing area which covers 30,000 square metres.

The Volksbad is open from May to August from 10 a.m. to 7 p.m. every day.

Prices: A day at the open-air pool costs 5 euros for adults, and children pay just 2.80 euros for a day ticket. Entry is free for children under six years old.

Volksbad
Peter-Krall-Straße 62, 41065 Mönchengladbach
www.new-baeder.de

Volksbad

Volksbad

Das denkmalgeschützte Volksbad in Mönchengladbach wurde von 1924 bis 1926 im Stil der 20er Jahre erbaut. Im Jahr 2004 wurde es in die Denkmalliste der Stadt Mönchengladbach eingetragen. Heute bietet das Freibad eine Vielzahl an unterschiedlichen Freizeitangeboten, vom  Badespaß, über Entspannung und Sport inmitten von Wiesen und alten Bäumen.

Sportliebhaber ziehen ihre Bahnen im 50 Meter-Sportbecken und können auf den extra eingerichteten Feldern Beachvolleyball, Fußball oder Basketball spielen. Für den Sprung ins kühle Nass stehen im extra Sprungbecken das 1-Meter-Brett und ein drei Meter hoher Turm zur Verfügung.  

Im groß angelegten Freizeitbecken gibt es eine Wasserrutsche, Wasserspeier, Wasserkanone, Wasserpilz und Spritzdüsen, Bodensprudler, Massagedüsen und Sprudelliegen. Den Höhepunkt bildet die 15 Meter lange Wasserrutsche. Die kleinen Besucher fühlen sich im Planschbecken, auf dem Spielschiff, am Wasserigel oder Wassertor und auf der Kinderwasserrutsche pudelwohl. Auch außerhalb des Wassers gilt es vieles zu entdecken. So hält das gastronomische Angebot genau das Richtige bereit, damit man seine Stunden im Volksbad mit wirklich allen Sinnen erleben kann. Auf Sonnenliegen oder im Strandkorb kann dann in Ruhe auf der 30.000 Quadratmeter großen Liegewiese entspannt werden.

Geöffnet hat das Volksbad von Mai bis August täglich von 10 bis 19 Uhr.

Preise: Erwachsene kostet ein Tag im Freibad 5 Euro, Jugendliche zahlen 2,80 Euro für eine Tageskarte. Kinder unter sechs Jahren zahlen keinen Eintritt.

 

Volksbad 
Peter-Krall-Straße 62, 41065 Mönchengladbach
www.new-baeder.de