100 Years of Joseph Beuys

For Joseph Beuys, whose art has influenced creative people worldwide, Mönchengladbach was an important stage in his career. In 1967, he was able to realise his first solo exhibition in the old city museum at Bismarckstraße 97.​ It was a great success with the public, which pushed the city into the focus of the international art scene. But his work polarised and heated up the minds of the city: the legendary Fluxus concert “…or should we change it?”, together with Henning Christiansen became known as the “Sauerkraut Happening”, the “Friedensfeier” with Jonas Hafner, which is still commemorated by the word “Exit” on the door of the Minster St. Vitus, left the citizens of Mönchengladbach perplexed and shaking their heads.

Joseph Beuys 
and the Museum Abteiberg

His connection to the Austrian architect and artist Hans Hollein led to a new museum building on the Abteiberg in 1982, which set the trend for the city and the entire art world. For this, Hollein received the “Oscar” of architecture, the renowned Pritzker Prize. The building became a milestone for cultural tourism: “There wouldn’t have been Bilbao without Mönchengladbach“, said Frank Gehry in his opening speech in Bilbao in 1997.

From 3 June, the Museum Abteiberg is celebrating Beuys’ 100th birthday with two complementary exhibitions that relate Beuys’ time to the present. Not limited to a retrospective, the museum also wants to continue Beuys’ world view and deal with the current issues of his institutional critique.

In keeping with the anniversary year of Joseph Beuys, the MG_Artfriends podcast with Eva Caroline Eick as guest poses the exciting and interesting question How current is Joseph Beuys today? Environmental protection, criticism of capitalism and direct democracy – for Beuys, these are issues that can be solved if everyone draws on their creativity. Is this true? Listen for yourself!

Joseph Beuys #beuysinmg 
How the city tour works via the YONA app

Digitale city tour 
about Beuys footprints in Mönchengladbach

If you want to relive the footprints of Beuys in Mönchengladbach with extraordinary insights and retrospectives, we recommend our city tour developed on the occasion of the anniversary year. Supplemented by digital elements played in with augmented reality, it tells stories of rejection and enthusiasm and, in the middle of the old museum garden, solves why an important bronze sculpture ended up as a “doghouse” on a float at the carnival Veilchendienstagszug. The Beuys tour ends at the Museum Abteiberg and can also be booked as an individual tour for groups.

The tour is available in two variants:

On the guided tour with our city guide you will learn many details and profound background information about the life of Joseph Beuys and his relationship to Mönchengladbach. Dates and tickets for the guided city tour can be found here. We also offer this tour as an individual tour. For special dates or group arrangements, please contact Andreas Henke (MGMG), andreas.henke@mgmg.de

Those who prefer to go on a discovery tour on their own without a city guide can use their smartphone to access a lot of content and information free of charge at the stations listed below (see map – start Museum Abteiberg). Around the Abteiberg, the digital Beuys tour via the YONA app offers an entertaining flashback with interaction: augmented reality makes it possible for you to leave a statement on the same wall as Joseph Beuys did in his day or to become artistically creative. Simply download the free YONA app from the App Store or Google Play and scan the stations below.

Portrait Joseph Beuys
YONA App Anleitung - Mehr erfahren

with the friendly assistance

Museum Abteiberg
Wall

Yona Scan it

Museum Abteiberg
City map

Yona Scan it

Museum Abteiberg
Brick wall

Yona Scan it

King's Chair
by the artist Anatol

Yona Scan it

Graffiti wall
Spray "House Zoar must stay..."

Yona Scan it

St Vitus Minster

Yona Scan it

City Church Alter Markt

Yona Scan it

Citylight
Old market

Yona Scan it

Wallart
Joseph Beuys & Hans Hollein

Yona Scan it

Beuys’ Kitchen 
And the Theatre Krefeld Mönchengladbach

The Theatre Krefeld Mönchengladbach also congratulates on the 100th birthday of the Krefeld artist. With Beuys’ Kitchen, director and theatre researcher Sebastian Blasius has conceived an evening of theatre that deals with Beuys’ work in an unusual way. The production focuses less on a biographical portrayal and more on an entertaining and challenging production that draws on Beuys’ artistic principles in an interplay with theater’s own and not theater’s own elements. You can find the premiere from the Theatre Krefeld here.

Theater Beuys Kueche
euys 1982 Ausstellungseröffnung
Joseph Beuys Hut

Beuys & Bike 
Experience the cycling theme tour

Even beyond the borders of Mönchengladbach, one can experience much about the work of Joseph Beuys. The artist’s passion for nature connects Beuys with the prominent animal filmmaker and behavioural scientist Heinz Sielmann, who was born in MG-Rheydt. The Beuys & Bike cycle route offers an experience of nature and cultural enjoyment at the same time: active, environmentally conscious and entirely in the spirit of Beuys. 

The Beuys & Bike cycle route takes you to the historically significant traces of the artist in Mönchengladbach and shows the most beautiful green sides of the large city on the Lower Rhine. Cycle along the Niersgrünzug, relax in the Volksgarten and discover the works of art in the sculpture garden at the foot of the Abteiberg Museum.

You can find more information about Beuys & Bike here.

100 Jahre Joseph Beuys

Für Joseph Beuys, dessen Aktionskunst kreative Menschen weltweit beeinflusst hat, war Mönchengladbach eine wichtige Station in seiner Karriere. Hier konnte er im Jahr 1967 seine erste museale Einzelausstellung im alten Städtischen Museum an der Bismarckstraße 97 realisieren. Ein großer Publikumserfolg, der die Stadt in den Fokus der internationalen Kunstszene rückte. Doch sein Werk polarisierte und erhitzte die Gemüter der Stadt: Das legendäre Fluxus-Konzert „…oder sollen wir es verändern?“, zusammen mit Henning Christiansen wurde als „Sauerkraut-Happening“ bekannt, die „Friedensfeier“ mit Jonas Hafner, an die bis heute das Wort „Exit“ an der Tür des Münsters erinnert, ließ die Mönchengladbacher ratlos und kopfschüttelnd zurück.

Joseph Beuys 
und das Museum Abteiberg

Seine Verbindung zu dem österreichischen Architekten und Künstler Hans Hollein führte 1982 allerdings zu einem Museumsneubau auf dem Abteiberg, der richtungsweisend für die Stadt und die gesamte Kunstwelt wurde. Hollein erhielt dafür den „Oscar“ der Architektur, den renommierten Pritzker Preis.
Das Gebäude wurde zum Meilenstein für den Kulturtourismus: „There wouldn’t have been Bilbao without Mönchengladbach“, so Frank Gehry 1997 in seiner Eröffnungsrede in Bilbao.

Beuys 100. Geburtstag begeht das Museum Abteiberg ab dem 3. Juni mit zwei sich ergänzenden Ausstellungen, die die Beuys-Zeit und die Gegenwart zueinander in Bezug setzen. Nicht beschränkt auf den Rückblick will das Museum auch den Beuys’schen Weltblick fortsetzen und sich aktuell mit den Fragen seiner Institutionskritik auseinandersetzen.

Digitale Stadttour 
über Beuys Spuren in Mönchengladbach

Wer die Spuren Beuys in Mönchengladbach mit außergewöhnlichen Ein- und Rückblicken nacherleben möchte, dem empfehlen wir unsere anlässlich des Jubiläumsjahres entwickelte Stadttour. Ergänzt um digitale Elemente, die mit Augmented Reality eingespielt werden, erzählt sie Geschichten von Ablehnung und Begeisterung und löst inmitten des alten Museumsgartens auf, warum eine bedeutende Bronzeplastik als „Hundehütte“ auf einem Motivwagen beim karnevalistischen Veilchendienstagszug landete. Die Beuys-Tour endet am Museum Abteiberg und kann für Gruppen auch als individuelle Tour gebucht werden.

Die Tour gibt es in zwei Varianten:

Auf der geführten Tour mit unserem Stadtführer erfahren Sie viele Details und tiefgreifende Hintergründe über das Leben Joseph Beuys und seiner Beziehung zur Mönchengladbach. Termine und Tickets für die geführte Stadttour finden Sie hier. Diese Tour bieten wir auch als individuelle Tour an. Für Sondertermine oder Gruppenvereinbarungen kontaktieren Sie bitte Andreas Henke (MGMG), andreas.henke@mgmg.de

Wer lieber selbstständig ohne Stadtführer auf Entdeckungsreise gehen möchte, kann mit dem Smartphone an den unten genannten Stationen viele Inhalte und Informationen kostenfrei abrufen (siehe Karte – Start Museum Abteiberg). Rund um den Abteiberg bietet die digitale Beuys-Tour per YONA App einen unterhaltsamen Flashback mit Interaktion: Augmented Reality macht es möglich, dass Sie auf der gleichen Wand, wie seinerzeit Joseph Beuys ein Statement hinterlassen oder künstlerisch kreativ werden können.​ Dazu einfach die kostenlose YONA App im App Store oder bei Google Play herunterladen und die nachstehenden Stationen scannen.

Portrait Joseph Beuys
YONA App Anleitung - Mehr erfahren

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung

Museum Abteiberg
Wand

Yona Scan it

Museum Abteiberg
Stadtplan

Yona Scan it

Museum Abteiberg
Backsteinwand

Yona Scan it

Königsstuhl
des Künstlers Anatol

Yona Scan it

Graffitiwand
Spray "Haus Zoar muss bleiben..."

Yona Scan it

Münster St. Vitus

Yona Scan it

Citykirche Alter Markt

Yona Scan it

Citylight
Alter Markt

Yona Scan it

Wallart
Joseph Beuys & Hans Hollein

Yona Scan it

Beuys‘ Küche 
Und das Theater Krefeld Mönchengladbach

Auch das Gemeinschaftstheater Krefeld-Mönchengladbach gratuliert zum 100. Geburtstag des Krefelder Künstlers. Mit Beuys‘ Küche konzipiert der Regisseur und Theatererforscher Sebastian Blasius einen Theaterabend, der sich mit Beuys‘ Wirken auf außergewöhnliche Weise auseinandersetzt. Die Inszenierung setzt dabei weniger auf eine biografische Darstellung, sondern vielmehr auf eine unterhaltsam-herausfordernde Inszenierung, die an Beuys‘ künstlerische Prinzipien andockt im Zusammenspiel mit theatereigenen und theaterfremden Elementen. Die Premiere aus dem Theater Krefeld finden Sie hier.

Theater Beuys Kueche
euys 1982 Ausstellungseröffnung
Joseph Beuys Hut

Beuys & Bike 
Die radtouristische Thementour erleben

Auch über die Grenzen Mönchengladbachs hinaus kann man viel über das Wirken von Joseph Beuys erleben. Die Liebe zur Natur verbindet den Künstler freundschaftlich mit dem prominenten Tierfilmer und Verhaltensforscher Heinz Sielmann, geboren in Mönchengladbach-Rheydt. Naturerlebnis und gleichzeitig Kulturgenuss bietet die radtouristische Themenroute Beuys & Bike: aktiv, umweltbewusst und ganz im Sinne Beuys. 

Der Radroute Beuys & Bike führt Sie zu den historisch bedeutsamen Spuren des Künstlers in Mönchengladbach und zeigt die schönsten grünen Seiten der Großstadt am Niederrhein. Radeln Sie auf dem Niersgrünzug, entspannen Sie im Volksgarten und entdecken Sie die Kunstwerke im Skulpturenpark am Fuße des Museums Abteiberg.

Weitere Informationen zu Beuys & Bike finden Sie hier.